Technical Advisory Committee

The purpose of the Technical Advisory Committee (TAC) is to share in-depth knowledge and expertise through targeted input to inform the dialogue and decision-making of the California Future Health Workforce Commission. TAC members are senior-level leaders from associations, agencies, educational institutions, health systems, communities, and organizations with demonstrated expertise and relationships in relevant health, workforce, education and policy areas.


Manal Aboelata
Managing Director
Prevention Institute

Sergio Aguilar-Gaxiola, MD, PhD
UC Davis Center for Reducing Health Disparities

Charles Alexander, PhD
Associate Vice Provost for Student Diversity
University of California, Los Angeles

Teresa Anderson, MPH
Public Policy Director
California Association of Physician Assistants

José Arévalo, MD, FAAFP
Chair, Latino Physicians of California
Senior Medical Director, Sutter Independent Physicians

Cindy Beck
Health Careers Education Programs Consultant – Career and College Transition Division
California Department of Education

Judith Berg, MS, RN, FACHE

Christine Cassel, MD
Planning Dean
Kaiser Permanente School of Medicine

Jennie Chin Hansen, MS, RN, FAAN
Former CEO
American Geriatrics Society

Yvonne Choong
Vice President – Center for Health Policy
California Medical Association

Wanda Cole-Frieman
Vice President – Talent Acquisition
Dignity Health

Sarah de Guia, JD
Executive Director
California Pan-Ethnic Health Network

Loriann DeMartini, PharmD
California Society of Health-System Pharmacists

Audrey Dow, MPA
Senior Vice President
The Campaign for College Opportunity

Program Director and Principal Investigator
California Statewide Area Health Education Center

Virginia Hedrick, MPH
Director of Policy and Planning
California Consortium for Urban Indian Health

Christopher Henry
Vice President – Talent Acquisition and Change Management
Sutter Health

Susan Hogeland, CAE
Executive Vice President
California Association of Family Physicians

Saskia Kim
Regulatory Policy Specialist
California Nurses Association/National Nurses United

Ann-Louise Kuhns, MPP
President and CEO
California Children’s Hospital Association

Beth Malinowski
Deputy Director for Government Affairs
CaliforniaHealth+ Advocates

Christine Mallon, PhD
Assistant Vice Chancellor, Academic Programs and Faculty Development
CSU Office of the Chancellor

Cathy Martin
Vice President, Workforce Policy
California Hospital Association

Kimberly Mayer, MSSW
California Institute for Behavioral Health Solutions

Maggie Merritt
Executive Director
Steinberg Institute

Rebecca Miller

Workforce Director
SEIU United Healthworkers West

Bob Montoya, MD, MPH
Medical Consultant

Laura Mosqueda, MD, FAAFP, AGSF
Associate Dean of Primary Care
Professor and Chair of Family Medicine and Geriatrics
Keck School of Medicine of University of Southern California

Jeffrey A. Mrizek, Ed.D, MBA
Dean of Career Technical Education
California Community Colleges Chancellor’s Office

Erica Murray
President & CEO
California Association of Public Hospitals and Health Systems

Sunita Mutha, MD, FACP
Healthforce Center at UCSF

Cathryn Nation, MD
Associate Vice President
University of California Office of the President

Robert Redlo
Executive Committee Member
California Workforce Development Board

Anette Smith-Dohring
Workforce Development Program Manager
Sutter Health

Abby Snay
Executive Director
Jewish Vocational Services

Joanne Spetz, PhD
Associate Director of Research
Healthforce Center at UCSF

Stacie Walker
Deputy Director – Healthcare Workforce Development
Office of Statewide Health Planning and Development

Winston Wong, MD, MS, FAAFP
Medical Director, Community Benefit
Director, Disparities Improvement and Quality Initiatives
Kaiser Permanente

Wilma Wooten, MD, MPH
Public Health Officer
County of San Diego Health and Human Services Agency

Linda Zorn, RD, MA
Statewide Sector Navigator
California Community Colleges – Health Workforce Initiative