Behavioral Health


Sergio Aguilar-Gaxiola, MD, PhD
UC Davis Center for Reducing Health Disparities

Elizabeth Gibboney, MA
Partnership Health Plan of California


Subcommittee Members

Jane Adcock
Executive Director
California Behavioral Health Planning Council

Robin Affrime, MPH

Sarah Arnquist, MPH
Vice President, Account Partnerships, West
Beacon Health Options

Anne Bakar
President and CEO
Telecare Corporation

Kirsten Barlow, MSW
Executive Director
County Behavioral Health Directors Association

Stuart Buttlaire, PhD
Regional Director of Inpatient Psychiatry and Continuing Care
Kaiser Permanente

Jeanne Cain
Former Executive Vice President of Policy

Marina Castillo-Augusto, MS
Chief, Community Development and Engagement Unit
Office of Health Equity, California Department of Public Health

Clayton Chau, MD, PhD
Regional Executive Medical Director
Providence St. Joseph Health, Southern CA Region

Patrick Courneya, MD
Executive Vice President & Chief Medical Officer – Quality
Kaiser Foundation Health Plan and Hospitals

Jessica Cruz, MPA/HS
Executive Director
National Alliance on Mental Illness

E. Maxwell Davis, PhD, LISW
Director, Integrated Behavioral Health Program
California Social Work Education Center; UC Berkeley School of Social Welfare

Thad Dixon
Xpio Health

Sheree Lowe
Vice President, Behavioral Health
California Hospital Association

Maggie Merritt
Executive Director
Steinberg Institute

Jennifer Patterson, PhD
US Department of Veteran Affairs

Bethany Phoenix, RN, PhD, FAAN
Health Sciences Clinical Professor & Vice-Chair,
Department of Community Health Systems, UCSF School of Nursing

Kristene Smith
Mental Health California

Elizabeth Stanley-Salazar, MPH
Project Manager
California Institute for Behavioral Health Solutions

Sheila Thornton
President and CEO
OneFuture Coachella Valley

Dawan Utecht
Director of Behavioral Health/Public Guardian
Fresno County Department of Mental Health Services

Stacie Walker
Deputy Director, Healthcare Workforce Development
Office of Statewide Health Planning and Development

Stephanie Welch
Executive Director, Council on Mentally Ill Offenders,
California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation

Timothy White, PhD
California State University

Jim Wood, DDS
California State Assembly

Donna Wyatt
Director, Career and College Transitions Division
California Department of Education


Lead Staff

Kim Mayer, MSSW
Director of Workforce Development
California Institute for Behavioral Health Solutoions