Primary Care and Prevention


Hector Flores, MD
Chair, Family Practice Department
White Memorial Medical Center

Rishi Manchanda, MD, MPH
Health Begins


Subcommittee Members

Manal Aboelata, MPH
Deputy Executive Director
Prevention Institute

Judith Berg, MS, RN
Former CEO
Health Impact

Tim Berthold, MSPH
Faculty and Program Coordinator, Community Health Worker Certificate Program
City College of San Francisco

America Bracho, MD, MPH
Executive Director
Latino Health Access

Linda Burnes Bolton, DrPH, RN
Vice President for Nursing, Chief Nursing Officer

David Carlisle, MD, PhD, MPH
President and CEO
Charles R. Drew University of Medicine and Science

Joseph Castro, PhD, MPP
California State University, Fresno

Garrett Chan, PhD, NP
Clinical Associate Professor of Medicine for Primary Care and Population Health
Clinical Associate Professor of Emergency Medicine
Stanford University

Toni Johnson-Chavis, MD
Dr. Toni Johnson-Chavis Medical Practice

Yvonne Choong, MPP
Vice President, Center for Health Policy
California Medical Association

Muntu Davis, MD, MPH
Health Officer
Los Angeles County Department of Public Health

Michael DeRosa, PhD, PA-C
Professor and Department Chair, Physician Assistant Department
Samuel Merritt University

Patrick Dowling, MD, MPH
Professor and Chair
Department of Family Medicine, UCLA

Angela Echiverri, MD, MPH
Family Medicine Physician, North Richmond Center for Health
Faculty, Contra Costa Family Medicine Residency Program

Jonathan Fielding, MD, MBA, MPH, MA
Distinguished Professor in Residence

Jane Garcia, MPH
President and CEO
La Clinica de la Raza

Dean Germano, MHSc
Shasta Community Health Center

Kevin Grumbach, MD
Chair, UCSF Department of Family and Community Medicine
Codirector, UCSF Center for Excellence in Primary Care
Codirector, UCSF Clinical Translational Science Community Engagement and Health Policy Program

Gary Gugelchuk, PhD
Provost and Chief Operating Officer
Western University of Health Sciences

Ed Hernandez, OD
Former Senator
California State Senate

Susan Hogeland
Former Executive Vice President
California Association of Family Physicians

Bob Montoya, MD, MPH
Medical Consultant

Felix Nunez, MD, MPH
Medical Director – Inland Empire
Molina Healthcare of California

Mary Pittman, DrPH
President and CEO
Public Health Institute

Karen Smith, MD, MPH
Director and State Public Health Officer
California Department of Public Health


Lead Staff

Melissa Schoen, MBA, MPH
Schoen Consulting